St. Nicholas Landmark Restaurant and taproom opened for business in Chester on July 1 to a full house of local diners, anxious to see the newly rehabbed interior and try Chester's newest restaurant menu.
The Landmark building was built in 1829. In the earliest years, when Chester was actually located on the riverfront, the building was known as St. Louis Flats. Throughout history the building housed a variety of businesses and was a successful bar and restaurant in more recent years. The previous owners closed several years ago. The property was purchased in 2017 by the Mississippi Landmark Corporation, comprised of area investors.
A lot of exterior renovation and repair has been done to the nearly 200-year-old, three story building and the interior has been rehabbed, while taking great measures to insure the historical integrity of the building. However, there has been quite a lot of character added to the interior that will prove new and interesting to diners. The first floor provides a large two-part dining area and fully stocked bar. The upstairs, which area residents will remember as the Captain's Table, features a large dining room, a bar and a wonderful view of the Mississippi River. Since the restaurant kitchen is located on the lower floor, a new dumb waiter has been installed to assure timeliness and convenience for the upstairs diners.
The St. Nicholas Landmark features unique pub type food for lunch and dinner, as well as excellent evening entrees, including several steaks. St. Nicholas Landmark investors also own and operate the St. Nicholas Hotel Restaurant and Brewery in DuQuoin. The Landmark location in Chester will feature all the popular craft beers brewed at the DuQuoin location.
The owners held soft opening on June 29 and 30, for invited guests.
Hours of operation will be 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesdays through Thursdays, 11 a.m.-1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays and 11 a.m.-8 p.m. Sundays. The restaurant and tap room will be closed on Mondays.