Breaking News Bar

Chester will have one contested aldermanic race in April

Herald Tribune staff report
updated: 1/4/2019 10:33 AM

The city of Chester will have one contested aldermanic race -- between two previous aldermen -- in the upcoming April consolidated election, as filing for municipal, school district, park district and library district races closed last week.

Here is a partial list of who has filed to run for local offices on April 2, 2019.

Chester City Council

For the Ward 1 seat, former aldermen Richard Brueggemann and Randy Dudenbostel have filed to run. Current Alderman Nancy Crossland is not running for re-election.

In Ward 2, Alderman Donnie Clark is not running for re-election. Scott Stumpe is the only candidate who is running there.

In Ward 3, Alderman Russ Rader has filed to run for re-election. He is uncontested.

And in Ward 4, Alderman Ray Allison has filed for re-election. He also is uncontested.

Red Bud City Council

A mayor's race has developed in Red Bud, as Mayor Tim Lowry has picked up a challenge from trucking company owner John Horrell.

Meanwhile the city treasurer, Marcia Esker, and the city clerk, Joanne Cowell, are running unopposed for re-election.

The most interesting aldermanic race is for the 4-year Ward 3 seat, where incumbent Alderman David Friess has picked up two challengers in his run for re-election. Both Larry Mehring and David Wittenauer are running to unseat Friess, who ran in November as the Republican candidate for the state representative district held by Jerry Costello, and lost. Friess was criticized during that run for missing half of his city council meetings in 2017, which he blamed on family and business commitments.

Also in Ward 3, Alderman Curt Guebert is running for re-election, for a two-year term.

In Ward 1, Alderman Glenn Linnertz is stepping down. Jeremy Demond is running uncontested for that seat.

In Ward 2, Alderman Kyle Donjon is running uncontested for re-election.

In Ward 4, Alderman Mike Reed is not standing for re-election. Mike Rheinecker is running uncontested for that seat.

Steeleville Village Board

Three, 4-year seats on the Steeleville Village Board will be up for election in April, and three candidates have filed to run. Trustees Jana Bollmann-Young and Andy Gerlach are running for re-election. The third seat will be taken by Nathan Reitz, a newcomer, who will assume the seat held now by Carlos Barbour. Barbour is not running for re-election.

Sparta City Council

Sparta Mayor Jason Schlimme, elected in 2015 to a full term, is getting competition in his re-election bid from former mayor Randy Bertetto. Bertetto was mayor from 2003 to 2007.

Meanwhile, four candidates are running for two seats on the Sparta city council. They are incumbent commissioners Bobby Klausing and Gary Hanna, and challengers John Holt and Nathaniel Ward.