Breaking News Bar

Chester city council continues work on water line replacements

By Don Berry
Contributing writer
updated: 4/21/2021 10:27 AM

The Chester City Council only had five members present Monday, as aldermen Ray Allison, Dan Geisen and J.D. Maes were absent. Newly-elected aldermen Bob Buckham (2nd Ward) and Larry Bert (4th Ward) were in the chamber along with newly elected Treasurer Dan Colvis.

The new members will be sworn in May 3.

The council approved paying invoices presented by City Engineer Harold Sheffer on behalf of J.T. Blankenship Inc. for engineering services regarding the High Service Pump Rehabilitation and Finished Water Line Replacement ($30,000) and the St. John Sidewalk Renovation Project ($3,000).

The council accepted the low bid from Heir Plumbing & Heating Inc. for the High Service Pump Rehabilitation and finished water line replacement project in the amount of $180,250. They then accepted a proposal from Red Dot Construction for the city's share of the expense of repairing the sidewalk and retaining wall at St. John's in the amount of $25,420.

The council also accepted a Red Dot bid to patch the concrete on Garfield Street in the amount of $14,697 and approved moving forward with Phase 1 of the Collector Well Project.

The Council voted to accept the gift of real estate located at 1208 Spring St. They agreed to advertise for bids for four consecutive weeks of the real estate property owned by the city located at 110 Morrison St.

• The council approved City Attorney Jeff Kerkhover's proposal to amend the city's agreement with the Southern Illinois Sand Company and enter into a new lease agreement with them which would extend until 2046. This change was necessary in order for the city to get a $197,000 grant for improvements to the riverfront. Chester is one of five Illinois riverfront towns to win this grant.

• The council approved hiring Tony West as the plant/flower maintenance employee.

• The council passed an amendment regarding council member meeting attendance. Council members will be excused for two absences, but after that they will be docked their salary for missing a meeting.

• The next meeting, on May 3, will be the final meeting for aldermen D. Michael Blechle, Dan Geisen and Dan Ohlau and Treasurer Nancy Eggemeyer, as the new council will be seated and all the newly elected officials sworn in.